Information management remains a problem for many companies

By 27 February 2019 June 13th, 2019 Immaterial capital

David Roe, in his article “Information Management Remains a Problem for Many Enterprises”, highlights how bad information management is a serious problem for many companies and their employees.

To do this, he relies on the 2019 M-Files report, which shows that 82% of respondents say that their difficulties in finding the correct version of a file they are looking for negatively affects their productivity.

According to him, the origins of the problem are of several kinds. First, many organizations store information using outdated hierarchical file structures on various disparate and often non-integrated systems. Second, organizations resist change and do not question themselves sufficiently. Finally, technology is not properly accessible to employees and, as a result, does not allow them to realize their full human potential.

In response, he advocates for improving the situation by using a range of tools to address specific areas, focusing on the processes of capturing, qualifying and intelligently classifying information and knowledge, and investing time and resources in the short term to achieve positive results in the future.

Source: CMS Wire, “Information Management Remains a Problem for Many Enterprises” by David Roe, 22/02/2019

For more information:

Find out how to add value to your knowledge or read our article on the theme of innovation through communities of practice.

Le management de l’information reste un problème pour beaucoup d’entreprises

By 27 février 2019 Capital immatériel

David Roe, dans son article « Information Management Remains a Problem for Many Enterprises », souligne à quel point un mauvais management de l’information est grave pour de nombreuses entreprises et leurs employés.

Pour cela il s’appuie sur le rapport 2019 de M-Files qui montre notamment que 82% des répondants déclarent que leurs difficultés pour trouver la version correcte d’un fichier qu’ils recherchent affecte négativement leur productivité.

Selon lui, les origines du problème sont de plusieurs natures. Tout d’abord, de nombreuses entreprises stockent les informations à l’aide de structures de dossiers hiérarchiques obsolètes sur divers systèmes disparates et souvent non intégrés. Ensuite, les organisations résistent au changement et ne se remettent pas suffisamment en question. Enfin, la technologie n’est pas convenablement accessible aux employés et, par suite, ne permet pas d’exploiter tout leur potentiel humain.

En réponse, il préconise d’améliorer la situation en utilisant une gamme d’outils permettant d’aborder des domaines spécifiques, de porter les efforts sur les processus de capture, qualification et classification intelligente des informations et des connaissances, et d’investir du temps et des ressources à court terme pour enregistrer des résultats positifs dans l’avenir.

Source : CMS Wire, « Information Management Remains a Problem for Many Enterprises » par David Roe, le 22/02/2019

Pour en savoir plus :

Découvrez comment donner de la valeur ajoutée à vos connaissances ou lisez notre article sur le le thème de l’innovation grâce aux communautés de pratiques.